Never Underestimate the Importance of a Good Fake Boyfriend

anigif_enhanced-25966-1407465275-9_preview

We’ve all been there, facing a situation in which we really need a fake boyfriend, but we don’t have one. We tend to underestimate the importance of having a fake boyfriend, but this week I realized I really need one. Why do I need one? Because I’m a coward, that’s why. 

I realized I am incapable of saying ‘no’ to a date invitation. I know the best thing I could do is be honest and straightforwardly say “I’m sorry, you’re a nice guy, but I don’t want to go on a date with you.” If I could only say those words things would be so much easier for me and for the guy who made the invitation, but I can’t, so I pretend to have a boyfriend.

Having a fake boyfriend is harder than you may think, he needs many requirements. He needs to go to college, be older than you (but not much older), be handsome, successful, kind, respectful, have many things in common with you, and most importantly, it should be someone you know and is willing to fake being your boyfriend if needed. 

I know pretending to date someone is wrong, but sometimes it’s easier than rejecting another person. After all, they are people and have feelings. If you are lucky enough he’ll actually believe your boyfriend story and leave you alone. If he doesn’t believe you, you are left with no choice but saying the truth. 

Rejecting someone is hard, but sometimes the hardest thing and right thing are the same. 

Leave a Reply

