A Refreshing Twist in Male-Dominated Country Music

I have a new favorite song.  I gotta say I love country music. If you saw me on the street singing you’d think I’m from the heart of Nashville when I’m really from Mexico City. I don’t know why I love country music so much, maybe for its resemblance to regional mexican music.

Country music today has become very male-dominated. There is a simple formula to make a hit country song. You need: trucks, beer, dirt roads, a pretty girl and a great guitar solo. Add a reference to guns to make it extra special and don’t forget to mention Jesus.

Yes, it sounds crazy that I like this when I’m a liberal law student from a cosmopolitan city, who has never owned guns or pickup trucks. The problem is I’ve become numb to this formula. I don’t even realize essentially every song is about the same thing with the quintessential country girl. Of course this girl doesn’t have a name. She is referred to by her bikini top, tight jeans, “money-maker,” sun-tanned legs or by the alcoholic beverages she delivers to the man in the truck. Pick any country song and you’ll see I’m right. For example this lovely song by Florida Georgia Line:

“Yeah, when I first saw that bikini top on her

She’s poppin’ right out of the South Georgia water

Thought, “Oh, good lord, she had them long tanned legs!”

Couldn’t help myself so I walked up and said

Baby you a song! You make me wanna roll my windows down and cruise”

This was the image portrayed of a country song girl, until now. Finally, some women have the nerve to stand up to this via their own country song. They are vocal duo Maddie and Tae, their new song and video, “Girl in a Country Song,” points out that the way most new country songs depict women is demeaning. I wish the men of country music, would remember who they are objectifying with every song they sing. Maybe it’s not that each of these songs is bad by itself, but taken as a whole, this is what country music has become, so it was refreshing to hear a song that criticizes this way of depicting women.

Do yourself a favor and go listen the song here. I guarantee you’ll love it, and the video is hilarious. I’ll leave the lyrics here as well.

“Girl In A Country Song”

 Well I wish I had some shoes on my two bare feet

And it’s gettin’ kinda cold in these painted on cut off jeans

I hate the way this bikini top chafes

Do I really have to wear it all day? (Yeah baby)

I hear you over there on your tailgate whistlin’

Sayin’, “Hey girl”

But you know I ain’t listenin’

Cause I got a name

And to you it ain’t “pretty little thing”, “honey” or “baby”

Yeah it’s drivin’ me red-red-red-red-red-red-red neck crazy

[Chorus:]

Bein’ the girl in a country song

How in the world did it go so wrong?

Like all we’re good for

Is looking good for you and your friends on the weekend

Nothing more

We used to get a little respect

Now we’re lucky if we even get

To climb up in your truck, keep my mouth shut and ride along

And be the girl in a country song

Well shakin’ my moneymaker ain’t ever made me a dime

And there ain’t no sugar for you in this shaker of mine

Tell me one more time, “you gotta get you some of that”

Sure I’ll slide on over, but you’re gonna get slapped (Hah!)

These days it ain’t easy being that

[Chorus:]

Girl in a country song

How in the world did it go so wrong?

Like all we’re good for

Is looking good for you and your friends on the weekend

Nothing more

We used to get a little respect

Now we’re lucky if we even get

To climb up in your truck, keep my mouth shut and ride along

And be the girl in a country song (Yeah, yeah baby)

Aww no, Conway and George Strait

Never did it this way

Back in the old days

Aww y’all, we ain’t a cliche

That ain’t no way To treat a lady

 [Chorus:]

Like a girl in a country song

How in the world did it go so wrong?

Like all we’re good for

Is looking good for you and your friends on the weekend

Nothing more

We used to get a little respect

Now we’re lucky if we even get

To climb up in your truck, keep my mouth shut and ride along

Down some old dirt road we don’t even wanna be on

And be the girl in the country song

Leave a Reply

