What I learned about choosing my college major

This month a year ago I was facing one of the most difficult decisions I would make in my life, I needed to decide what my college major would be.

I had many options in my mind. I needed to choose between international relations, political science, law, or sociology. It was clear to me I would find my way in the social sciences.

I didn’t know what I wanted to study, I had all of this choices and I liked all of them, so I decided I would take an aptitude test hoping to get some answers or guidance. When my test results came, in it turned out that I was good at everything. So I was left even more confused.

Then I decided I would see all the study plans in all the universities but I liked all of them too much. Every day I grew more anxious, I had stomach ache because of the nerves, and I cried myself to sleep. I really wanted to make the right decision, after all I didn’t want to spend the rest of my life doing something I don’t like because I was forced to make a life changing decision during my teen years.  

Fortunately my parents were really supportive of all my options, but they wouldn’t help me make a decision, they said this was my choice to make.

 

After days of crying and feeling terrible I sat one afternoon and really thought about my options. I didn’t know what I wanted to study, but I knew what I wanted to do with my life. I wanted to work on a NGO. The next step, after figuring what I wanted to do with my life, was choosing the best path to get me there. After reading about people who worked in nongovernmental organizations and what they did, it was clear to me that studying law was the way to go. Everything became simpler after that. I chose my university and enrolled to law school, and this month I finished my first year.

I love my major, and I think I made a great decision. Maybe I don’t enjoy all the subjects, and there are things that my major doesn’t include but I’d still like to know. But this is a means to an end.

 

When you stop worrying about what to do for the rest of your life, you start enjoying it.

 

It’s been a year since I started college, and the most important thing I’ve learned is that I didn’t just choose a major, I chose a new life, the life that I wanted.

When choosing your college major you need to remember that the worst thing that could happen is that you don’t like your major and you just change after a semester.

 

So to everyone about to start college, I know it is a tough decision, but you are choosing how you want to spend the rest of your life. So when you are choosing just remember to relax, ponder all your options, and enjoy! You are lucky enough to decide what you want to do with your life, make the best of it.

Leave a Reply

