Hilary Duff is back! An with her the early 00’s girl inside me

So, when I heard Hilary Duff was releasing a new track I was overly excited. The ten-year-old early 00’s girl inside me went full on crazy. It’s been at least 9 or 10 years since she released her last album, and I used to be such a fan, my favorite song was Shine.

When I heard Chasing the Sun, I gotta say I loved it. I don’t know what I liked the most, the song, or that Hilary is finally back. But once I started listening to her song, I couldn’t stop until I finished listening to all the songs I had by her on my iTunes library.

Listening to all this songs again 10 years later gave me a whole new perspective on her music. I realized how kick-ass and empowering songs she used to sing. I knew the lyrics by heart, but I never truly understood them.

So Yesterday was released on 2003, and it’s the best song for letting go of something that is hurting you, and realizing things won’t be that bad when you let them go.

“Thank you… you made my mind up for me when you started to ignore me. Do you see a single tear? It isn’t gonna happen here. At least not today cause…

If it’s over, let it go, and come tomorrow it will seem so yesterday. I’m just a bird that’s all ready flown away. Laugh it off, let it go, and when you wake up it will seem so yesterday, so yesterday. HAVEN’T YOU HEARD THAT I’M GONNA BE OKAY?”

Come Clean was also released in 2003, and I enjoy the song quite a bit, specially the killer phrase that says

 “Cause perfect didn’t feel so perfect. Trying to fit a square into a circle was my life. I DEFY!”

One of my personal favorites was Fly, released on 2004

“Fly; open up the part of you that wants to hide away. You can shine, forget about the reasons why you can’t in life, and start to try, cause it’s your time, time to fly.

All your worries leave them somewhere else, find a dream you can follow. ”

Finally I rediscovered one of the most underrarted songs by Hilary Duff, Workin’ It Out.  This is a wonderful song! Just listen to the lyrics and feel the awesomeness and empowerment running through you veins. Here are the full lyrics:

Some days I start off draggin’ my feet
Some days I want to fly
Some days it all makes sense to me
Some day I just don’t want to know why

Hey,hey – I’m not giving up, no
Gonna stand up and shout it
No way – I’m not slackin’ off or backin’ out or crackin’ up with doubt
I’m workin it out

Sometimes I’m just surrounded by friends
Sometimes we’ve never met
Sometimes I pray for something I need
But hey, you never know what you’re gonna get and

Hey,hey – I’m not giving up, no
Gonna stand up and shout it

No way – I’m not slackin’ off or backin’ out or crackin’ up with doubt
I’m workin it out

It’s hard enough to be what you are
Harder to be what you’re not
It’s hard to know what you need to get
Harder to know what you’ve got

Hey,hey – I’m not giving up, no
Gonna stand up and shout it
No way – I’m not slackin’ off or backin’ out or
crackin’ up with doubt
I’m workin it out

Do you love Hilary Duff? Comment your favorite lyrics here.

Leave a Reply

